Kohlbecker, Wagner, Segrini Claim Podium in Season Finale

Kohlbecker, Wagner, Segrini Claim Podium in Season Finale

TechSport Racing driver Gresham Wagner earned the Continental Tire Pole Award for the season finale at Indianapolis Motor Speedway alongside teammate Spike Kohlbecker on the front row. As the field came to life and made their way down into Turn 1, drivers found themselves three and four wide as they fought for position. 

Just 10 minutes into the race, Kohlbecker took over the lead from Wagner which allowed Jordan Segrini (BSI Racing) to contend for the second position. As Kohlbecker and Wagner pulled ahead to battle for the lead, a three-way battle for the final podium position ensued between Segrini, Will Rodgers (Godwin Motorsports), and Justin Piscitell (McCumbee McAleer Racing). 

With only 12 minutes left on the clock, less than half a second separated Kohlbecker and Wagner for the lead while two-tenths of a second separated Rodgers and Segrini for third. Not long after, Segrini was able to overtake Rodgers and hold on for the final podium spot while Kohlbecker held off his teammate to take the checkered flag and collect his third win of 2023. 


Kohlbecker closed out 2023 with three consecutive podium finishes (seven total) and three wins. Wagner ended the inaugural GR Cup season with 10 podium finishes out of 14 races and Segrini collected two podiums in just six races. 

Race Awards

Along with his third-place finish, Segrini clocked the fastest lap of the race with a time of 1:40.196. Canaan O’Connell of VGRT earned the Hard Charger Award after starting in 19th and picking up five spots for a 14th-place finish. The Endava Highest Finishing Female honors went to Mia Lovell (Smooge Racing) who crossed the stripe in 17th.

The lucky winner of the Overtime Drawing was Farran Davis (RVA Graphics Motorsports) who cashed in on an additional $5,000 courtesy of Toyota. 

Connect with us! 

Stay up to date with all the latest GR Cup Series news online at grcupseries.com, by liking us on Facebook (officialgrcup) and following along on Instagram (@officialgrcup).