Wagner Earns Third Win of the Year at Indianapolis

Wagner Earns Third Win of the Year at Indianapolis

The Toyota GR Cup Series took to Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the second to last race in 2023 with Paul Bocuse (Copeland Motorsports) leading the field to green. TechSport Racing driver Gresham Wagner started alongside Bocuse on the front row and was able to gain control of the lead before the field came back across the yard of bricks on the opening lap. 

Side-by-side action ensued throughout the field as drivers navigated their way around the 2.4-mile, 14-turn road course. Spike Kohlbecker (TechSport Racing) and Will Rodgers (Godwin Motorsports) set chase for Wagner as they held the final two podium positions. 

As the 45-minute clock expired and the checkered flag waved, Wagner crossed the bricks to claim his third win of the year. Kohlbecker and Rodgers were able to hold off a hard charging Tyler Gonzalez (Copeland Motorsports) and Corey Lewis (Smooge Racing) to maintain their podium positions.


Wagner earned his third win and ninth podium honors of out 13 races thus far in 2023. After picking up the win in Friday’s race, Kohlbecker found himself back on the podium for the sixth time of the year while Rodgers claimed his third podium finish. 

Race Awards

Championship points leader Gonzalez laid down the fastest lap of the race on Lap 9 with a time of 1:39.439. After starting 22nd, Steven Clemons (BSI Racing) gained seven spots to earn the Hard Charger Award and Mia Lovell (Smooge Racing) rounded out the awards, picking up the Endava Highest Finishing Female honors.

The lucky winner of the Overtime Drawing was Lev Uretsky (McCumbee McAleer Racing) who cashed in on an additional $5,000 courtesy of Toyota.

What’s Next

The Toyota GR Cup Series will be on track early Sunday morning with an 8 AM qualifying session to set the field for the final race of 2023. The green flag will drop 11:55 AM ET, being streamed on grcup.com and the GT World YouTube page.

Connect with us!

Stay up to date with all the latest GR Cup Series news online at grcupseries.com, by liking us on Facebook (officialgrcup) and following along on Instagram (@officialgrcup).